Meta Post

Ugh, I have just been bad at updating this blog, you guys.  My life is actually pretty on track right now, which is awesome, but it makes it a lot harder to focus on escapist fantasies.

I’ve been working on a post about the book The Leftovers (and trying to figure out how to watch the TV show The Leftovers without buying an HBO subscription), but I’m also applying for a job and trying to get a new song performance-ready by October 7th. So all four of those things are going to get done, but some of them are going to take a little longer than the others.

Anecdote, though: I ran into another Rapture nerd at work last week!  He started digging through his wallet looking for something and, knowing absolutely nothing about me, said, “Man, I have so many cards!  You know how they used to talk about getting a chip implanted in our hands and they were all like, ‘It’s the Antichrist!’ ‘It’s the Mark of the Beast!’ I don’t care, I could use that chip!”

I was like, “Yeah, totally, if anything I would just be like, ‘Thanks, Antichrist, for making such a convenient chip!'”

We commiserated for a while and then parted ways.

Rapture nerds–they’re out there! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Meta Post

  1. Still here on the RSS feed, still happy to read stuff when you post it and not complain when you don’t.

    That subgenre of satanists-in-plain-sight (like the lies about the P&G logo, or the “666 in every bar code” thing) always strikes me as strange. I mean, cui bono? Who would benefit from “satanic imagery” becoming so commonplace that nobody noticed it because it was meaningless?

    • Aw thanks for the nice comment!

      Never really understood the satanists-in-plain-sight thing either. I mean, maybe the idea is that just by existing they’re mocking the RTCs who are clever enough to notice the signs, but if all they’re doing is existing that doesn’t really help or hinder anyone’s cause anyway.

Leave a Reply

