About Me Part 1: In Which I Explain the Purpose of this Blog and Sea Monsters Make an Appearance

Hello and welcome to Rapture Practice, a charming blog about the End Times and probably other things as well! I should start by clarifying that I don’t personally believe in the Rapture, nor have I ever practiced for it. So, you may ask, why am I starting a blog about it?  Great question!

Why am I starting a blog about it?

Over the course of my deep and meaningful studies (which mostly consist of me derping around on the internet), I have come across some great apocalypses–zombie apocalypses, viral apocalypses, alien apocalypses, apocalypses brought about by natural disasters, and a whole host of other wonderful things.

But rarely have I encountered a good, old-fashioned Book-of-Revelation-style apocalypse. That is, most of the ones I have encountered have been presented in earnest seriousness by a writer who believes its really going to happen and wants to save our souls.  Rarely do I see a Revelation-style apocalypse presented purely because it’s fun, crazy, and weird, not to mention full of sea monsters, dragons chasing winged women around the sky, and fire-breathing people char-grilling their enemies.  Really, what’s not to like?

So, since the Biblical apocalypse is my favorite one, since I’ve been reading quite a bit about it lately, and since I really want someone to geek out over it with aside from conservative Christians who immediately use “Jesus is coming back!” as an excuse to hate on gay folks (no hating on gay folks allowed here!), I’m going to share my musings on this lovely blog!

Admittedly, a lot of the stories/movies/websites I cover will be supposedly serious sites created by premillenial dispensationalists, because that’s what’s out there.  (And if you don’t know what premillenial dispensationalism is, I’ll blog about that too!)  However, there are many other interpretations of the Biblical apocalypse, so I’ll try to include a little bit of everything I come across.  There will be some books, some movies, some supposed current events, and a lot of facepalming over things people do.  But mostly fun!  There will be a lot of fun!

That’s why I’m starting this blog.  Fun!  So … that answers your question, right?

Unless that wasn’t quite what you meant when you asked why I’m starting a blog about the Rapture (which I’m sure you totally asked).  Maybe you wanted to know…

Next Post: Why am I starting a blog about it?

3 thoughts on “About Me Part 1: In Which I Explain the Purpose of this Blog and Sea Monsters Make an Appearance

Leave a Reply

